The Lynne Heaslip Award was first presented in 1998 to recognize a long-standing member who embodies the many qualities Lynne Heaslip had brought to the league. Lynne Heaslip was a well-known member who created a welcoming environment for players new and old. She mentored new players helping indoctrinate them into the league quickly. Eligible recipients are those who share knowledge and skills of the game, positive attitude, fairness, and determination, and act as a mentor for new players.

A sub-committee of the Glen Cairn Ladies Softball League (GCLSL) maintains the annual Lynne Heaslip Award. The sub-committee is comprised of past ‘active’ recipients; plus the current President. A suitable candidate can be nominated and submitted to any of the GCLSL executives, captains, or emailed to A presentation will be made to the Lynne Heaslip Award recipient at the year-end banquet.